Dumb UI/UX Memes: Buttholes on Baby Toys

Jon Chin
Oct 22, 2020

--

This image doesn’t make sense to me because babies don’t know what buttholes are.

I don’t know a lot about babies but my sister has been telling me some things about her 5 month old and how their visual system evolves. I also learned a little about how the brain responds to visual stimulus in graduate school (HF700 shoutout for the Bentley folks).

What I learned from my sister is that your brain and visual system are not fully developed when you’re born. As a baby, you’re doing all you can to build recognition and recall, but with a limited visual system.

Being able to identify a butthole requires learning and memory. Babies are literally just trying to figure out color, patterns, shape, and light/dark. I don’t know any system of parenting where you expose your developing baby to a bunch of buttholes as part of their learning.

So in the end, the toy is just fine (though it obviously could have been better) because you’re not the user, the baby is.

Also the UI sucks. Why are you putting buttholes on baby toys?

--

--

Jon Chin

Former Marine officer, 3-time graduate student, foul mouthed UX Designer